Life in Wanderlust


Social Media Week 2012 – Instagram
February 16, 2012, 12:58 am
Filed under: Community, Thoughts

Image

via Instagram NYC

February 13-17 is Social Media Week around the world. It’s an event designed to generate conversations about the future, possibilities, and impact of social media. I attended the Instagram NYC Community Party with no expectations and left indifferent to the event. I did arrive a little late, so I missed the speaker. Most of my time was spent waiting in line, where I was told I could possibly not get into the event for the night because it was overbooked. However, I stuck around and made it inside.

The venue was filled with twenty-somethings, the majority of which were in advertising and PR (of course), so I didn’t make any valuable connections. Although all you people were super nice! Anyways, my networking skills are a bit subpar but I felt the event could have prompted more conversation about Instagram in general or even in innovation in photosharing- that’s what networking is about right? I think it’s always valuable to generate discussion about how companies add value to society and people’s lives. I intend to check out a few more events and listen to a few speakers, so hopefully I’ll learn something!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

